Hello Sailor Swallow – Free To Good Home

Blah, my birthday is coming up soon.  I did the whole explanation last year of why I don’t get birthdays (actually, checking back on my whole “Hello Sailor Contemplates Birthdays” post, it was exactly a year ago today I wrote it – I like coincidences).

My birthday last year kind of sucked balls. This year is my thirtieth and I’m still contemplating whether or not to participate this year.  I’ve been told if I don’t celebrate it, I’ll regret it, but knowing me I’ll probably regret it anyway because birthdays are just a bit pants really.

Anywho a while ago I decided to give away one of my paintings for my birthday.  I don’t know why, maybe the deed of doing something for someone else on what I consider the most selfish day of the year makes me feel less spoilt, or something.  Who knows.  It makes sense in my brain.

Originally I decided I would give away one on my Facebook page if I reached 100 followers before July 7th, but actually it doesn’t really matter how many likes I have, I’d rather people like it because they like it, not because they are getting something out of it. And I want to extend the love to my WordPress family, because without you I’d be nothing anyway, plus I know many of you aren’t on Facebook (or just enjoy hiding) and I want you to be included.

So this is what I’m giving away, one of my swallows -

hello sailor original swallow

He doesn’t have a name yet, but he is a he. I guess you can name him when you get him, whoever you are.

He’s hand draw and painted in watercolour and ink on A4 watercolour paper.

Here is how I’m going to do it -

Leave a message here on BonjourMarin, or Facebook, saying you want to enter, I’ll put your name on the list, on my birthday I’ll put everyone’s names in a hat, draw one out and that will be the winner.  I’ll even pay postage.

There can only be one entry per person, because I want it to be as fair as possible.

There is also a second prize, but this is not for an original, this is for four prints of my designs -

cards

These are the original watercolour paintings I had scaled down and printed on to cards.

They are printed onto A6 (105mmx148mm) high quality thick 350gsm satin coated card. Each card is blank inside, so it can be sent with a personalised message (or you could just frame it and hang it on you wall as a piece of art!) and hand folded.

The catch? Your present to me.  Either dress yourself up/dress your pet up as a sailor or pirate OR change your profile picture on Facebook to a Hello Sailor painting for the day, post a message so I can see you and then I will choose my favourite, so make it awesome!

I’ll post again nearer the time reminding everyone, but this is what I want most for my birthday – Participation and people dressed as sailors.

If you decide to enter – Good luck!

Love Sailor xox

About Hellosailor

Writer, painter, nurse. Borderline, Bipolar, awesome.
This entry was posted in Art, General Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello Sailor Swallow – Free To Good Home

  1. Roxy says:

    Aww this is a really sweet idea. You are so talented! :D

  2. Maggie O'C says:

    I’m not commenting to get the Swallow because I already have an original HelloSailor but I didn’t want to say that you should celebrate your birthday. BUT this year, do it YOUR way. And if your way is eating frozen pizza and watching Love, Actually…then so be it. But don’t let anyone else pressure you into celebrating in a way YOU don’t want to!

    So there!

    xoxoxo Maggie

  3. WeeGee says:

    Brilliant idea :-)

  4. WeeGee says:

    Oh, and we could have a little party on button moon, if the real world is too much? xoxoxo

  5. Red says:

    Awesome idea! I am not a fan of birthdays either but I really like the idea of doing something for someone else. I have my eye on one you are in the process of completing. ;)

  6. Hawkruh says:

    This is a great idea! I’m all for doing for others on my birthday. Mine is coming up in just over a month, so you’re giving me ideas! You can spread your talent and brings smiles to many, many people. Good luck to everyone to be so lucky as to have a bit of you in their lives! :)

Leave a Reply

